Localities in the Global menu

by darribas

On friday, Yin, Nick and I went to an asian supermarket in Phoenix to buy all the stuff we needed for yesterday’s great dinner at my place. While Yin was carefully selecting soy sprouts and lotus plants, Nick looked around and said: “when I see these places, I can’t help but thinking pretty soon we’re all gonna be eating the same food all over the world”. The statement stroke me as it gets at the core of globalization. I’ve always thought of it as a diverse phenomenon that allows us to access other cultures and ways of understanding life, but there’s some truth in that, at the same time, it’s making us converge in so many ways that in the end it looks like we will all be just one culture, the human one. I don’t have much of a problem with that outcome as long as it’s one that allows for diversity; after all, the underground and side roads have always been the most interesting parts of all cultures. But when I couple that with stories like this one, or simply those from the abandoned villages and their dying cultures in the Spanish Pyrenees, there’s an inevitable feeling that this whole global craziness is stealing things that relate to our very inner. As usual in economics, it all boils down to a trade-off, I’m just not sure what part of the balance weights more to me.

